Monday, February 10, 2014

HMS Lee's twin victories (2013)

HMS NOTEBOOK: Lee doubles up, stretches his lead
Posted: Wednesday, June 5, 2013 11:32 pm | Updated: 11:36 pm, Wed Jun 5, 2013.
By TOM GILLISPIE Special to the Record
HICKORY, N.C. -- Shane Lee pulled a rare double last Saturday at Hickory Motor Speedway, as he won both the Late Model and Limited Late Model races.
Lee also stretched his Limited lead to 50 points over Landon Huffman, and he took a six-point lead over Jesse LeFevers in the Late Model standings.
Lee, last year’s Limited track champion, topped a 15-car Limited field, with pole-sitter Sheflon Clay finishing second. Brayton Haws was third, Casey Pierce fourth and Monty Cox fifth.
Lee started third in the Limited race and caught the leader, Huffman, around lap 20.
“We wouldn’t have caught him without a caution, and his tire had a slow leak in it and we made up the gap,” Lee said.
In the Late Model race, Lee led every lap and finished ahead of 2012 HMS Late Model track champion Austin McDaniel. C.J. Hulsey, Grant Wimbish and Ashley Huffman filled out the top five. Jesse LeFevers, the 2011 track champion and the points leader entering Saturday, finished seventh in a 14-car field.
 “We had a caution about lap 70; then Austin and me ran about a car length apart for the next 30 (laps),” Lee said.
Naturally, he enjoyed the twin win.
“That was my second goal for this year, after getting the first Late Model win (on April 13),” said Lee, who has three Limited and two Late Model wins on the year.
Additional results from last Saturday:
>>> Adam Beaver won the 4-Cylinders race from the pole, followed by Nathaniel Kanupp, Eddie Gilbert, Donnie Harmon, Randy Freeze and Chase Pollard.
>>> Kenneth Roberts won the pole and topped a five-car Renegades field, with Darren Dickinson, Gregory Austin, Shawn Hayes and Carroll McKinney filling out the field.
>>>) Jonathon Smith took a 10-car Street Stocks feature, followed by pole-sitter Kevin Eby, Marshall Sutton, Mark Whitten and Trey Buff.
Other HMS points
McKinney has a 42-point lead over Austin in Renegades; Kanupp leads Harmon by two points in 4-Cylinders; Don Fenn is eight points ahead of Steve Davis in Classis Sportsman Racing; Eby leads Marshall by six points in Street Stocks, and Jeremy Birch has a four-point lead on rookie Jason Smith in Super Trucks.
McDaniel has a six-point lead over Lee is ZLOOP Challenge points. Matt Piercy (12 back) is third and LeFevers (14 back) is fourth.
Trivia question
Who won four straight NASCAR Grand National (now Sprint Cup) races from the pole at Hickory Motor Speedway?
Upcoming HMS schedule
• The Late Models, Limiteds, Street Stocks, Super Trucks, Renegades and 4-Cylinders are set to run on Saturday.
• On June 15, the Late Models, Limiteds, Street Stocks, trucks, Renegades and Sports Classic cars will be racing.
• The UARA-Stars are scheduled to race at Hickory on June 22. Ronnie Bassett Jr. of Winston-Salem won the last UARA race at HMS on March 23.
• The Knights of Destruction — the Crash-A-Rama series — are slated to visit HMS on July 28.
Other tracks
• Trey Gibson and Anthony Anders were winners in Late Model races on May 25 at Greenville-Pickens Speedway in Easley, S.C. Gibson was a regular at Hickory in 2012, and Anders raced there part-time. Both men are from Easley.
• Clay Rogers won the April 20 X-1R Pro Cup Series race at HMS. He also won the other two Pro Cup races held this year, April 6 at Dillon, S.C., and May 17 at Kingsport, Tenn. The May 4 race at Anderson, S.C., was rained out. The Pro Cup Series is set to return to Hickory on Oct. 19.
Happy birthday
Bobby Allison will be 76 on Dec. 3. J.D. McDuffie would have been 75 last Dec. 5, and Cup drivers Kevin Harvick (38) and Ryan Newman (36) will have birthdays on Dec. 8.
Worth quoting
Two-time track champion Dennis Setzer, on some of the top drivers he raced against at HMS: “Max Prestwood (Jr.) and me raced hard, and I appreciate the heart he put into it. Scott Kilby (and) Dexter (Canipe Sr.) were terrific. And there were a lot of great racers who didn’t have the equipment to really be competitive.”
Trivia answer
Bobby Isaac won both Grand National (now Sprint Cup) races at HMS in 1969 and two more in 1970, his Cup championship season. In fact, he won all four races from the pole.
Isaac, from Catawba, ran eight GN races at Hickory. In his first four tries, he finished 26th, third, third and second.
Tom Gillispie, the author of “Angel in Black: Remembering Dale Earnhardt Sr.,” writes about racing at Hickory Motor Speedway for HDR Sports. He can be reached at

Contact: I can be reached at or Also, my Twitter handle is EDITORatWORK.

No comments: